Best eSIM for USA 2026: What Actually Works on AT&T and T-Mobile Towers
In the US, the eSIM brand matters less than the network behind it. We ranked 8 options by AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon access, pricing, rural coverage and real travel usability.
August 11, 2026

On this page
Our top picks
Mobimatter
MobiMatter is a reseller of eSIMs from various brands, offering some of the cheapest Europe data around. However, the underlying network varies by plan and isn’t revealed upfront, so you can’t predict the connection. It’s a budget-friendly option with big data allowances and cashback.
Nomad
★★★★★Nomad was tested in Cologne, the Rhine valley and the Black Forest, and it earns a strong 4.5 rating. It works with iPhones from the XR onwards and Android devices from the Pixel 3 and Galaxy S20, though mainland China handsets and some carrier-locked US phones are not supported.
Saily
★★★★★Saily’s 4G eSIM was put through real-world testing in Berlin and Bavaria, from central Mitte to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The reported results focus on connectivity at key urban and travel locations, though the speed figures have not been filled in. You can save 20% using code ESIMDUDE.
Terminal 4 at JFK, 15:40, off the transatlantic. My eSIM attached somewhere over Jamaica Bay and the AirTrain app loaded before I reached baggage claim. Four days later I lost signal completely on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and did not get it back for two hours.
Both of those things are normal in the United States, and the reason for both is the same: which of three carriers your eSIM lands on.
That is the whole article. The brand on the box matters far less than the tower it attaches to, and in the US the gap between the best and worst carrier is not a speed gap. It is a coverage gap that turns into a nothing gap the moment you leave a city.
Short Version




For most travellers: MobiMatter. $9.99 for 10GB over 30 days, the cheapest in the country, and the only marketplace that names the host carrier on each individual product page.
If you want the carrier named by the brand itself: Nomad. It publishes the split, AT&T and Verizon on capped plans, T-Mobile and AT&T on unlimited. Nobody else is that specific.
If you need a US phone number: Saily. A real +1 number for $0.99 a month, added June 2026. It is the only cheap route to one, and it is what US banks, rideshare apps and delivery services will demand.
The uncomfortable answer: T-Mobile’s own U.S. Pass at $25 for 7 days beats every eSIM on this page. 50GB of premium 5G, native priority, a US number, unlimited talk and text. The catch is you can only activate it after you land.
Before anything else, check your phone’s bands. On 3 August 2026, T-Mobile switched off the last 2G network in America. There is now no 2G and no 3G anywhere in the United States. LTE is the floor, and 5G coverage means nothing if your handset cannot reach the LTE layer underneath it. A phone without the right US bands does not get slow service, it gets none.
Best eSIM for USA: Quick Comparison
| Provider | Best for | USA 10GB/30d | Cost per GB | US carrier | Code |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MobiMatter (NextLink) | Cheapest, carrier named per product | $9.99 | $1.00 | Verizon + AT&T (RoamVault), T-Mobile + Verizon (Airalo SKU) | ESIMDUDE |
| Nomad | Best first-party disclosure | $20.00 | $2.00 | AT&T + Verizon capped, T-Mobile + AT&T unlimited | ESIMDUDE15 |
| Saily | The only cheap US phone number | $22.99 | $2.30 | Not disclosed | ESIMDUDE |
| Sim Local | Highest unlimited threshold | $17.50 | $1.75 | Lycamobile line = T-Mobile | ESIMDUDE10 |
| Airalo | Biggest catalogue, covers Alaska | $22.50 | $2.25 | T-Mobile plus one unnamed | ESIMADVICE15 |
| Ohayu | Nothing in particular | $21.49 | $2.15 | Claims all three | ESIMADVICE |
| GigSky | A US company with no US advantage | No 10GB tier | n/a | Not disclosed | ESIMADVICE15 |
| Amigo eSIM | No real USA product | No 10GB tier | n/a | Not disclosed | ESIMDUDE |
How We Tested These USA eSIMs?

Devices: iPhone 16 Pro as primary, Samsung Galaxy S24 as the Android control, iPhone 13 mini for legacy band checks. Every plan bought with our own card.
Route: JFK arrivals and Manhattan, the Long Island Rail Road, then Las Vegas and the drive out to the Grand Canyon South Rim and North Rim, Zion, and a stretch of I-15 through the Virgin River Gorge where three different providers behaved differently within twenty miles. Three tests per location, run on arrival, midday and evening.
Where the numbers below are measured by someone else, we say so and name them. Opensignal’s July 2026 United States report and RootMetrics’ H1 2026 drive test are the two datasets that matter, and we have cited them directly rather than pretending we generated them.
Prices are list prices checked 8 August 2026 and exclude discount codes unless stated.
The Three Networks, and Why the Rankings Disagree
This is the part every other USA eSIM guide gets wrong, because it quotes one dataset and stops.
Opensignal, United States, July 2026 measures crowdsourced app tests. T-Mobile won 12 of 16 awards.
| Metric | T-Mobile | AT&T | Verizon |
|---|---|---|---|
| Download speed | 192.5 Mbps | 96.0 Mbps | 89.4 Mbps |
| 5G download | 247.4 Mbps | 223.5 Mbps | 179.2 Mbps |
| 5G availability | 91.8% | not reported | not reported |
| Coverage experience | 9.1 / 10 | 9.4 / 10 | 9.7 / 10 |
| Consistent quality | 82.8% | 79.4% | 80.4% |
| Reliability | 942 | 939 | 932 |
| Time on network | 99.2% | 99.6% | 99.5% |
RootMetrics, H1 2026 is a drive test. Three million tests, 243,000 drive miles, all fifty states, 125 metros. That methodology matters more for a traveller, because you will be on highways and in parks rather than sitting in an apartment.
| Metric | T-Mobile | AT&T | Verizon |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median download | 392 Mbps | 228.7 Mbps | 302 Mbps |
| Overall RootScore | 97.3 | 98.3 | 98.4 |
| 5G availability | 96.1% | 88.2% | 89.0% |
| National awards | 2 | 5 | 6 |
Read those two tables together and you get the real answer.
T-Mobile is the fastest network in America by a wide margin. It is not the most useful one for a road trip. Verizon wins Opensignal’s coverage experience at 9.7 out of 10, wins Ookla’s own coverage metric at 30.4%, and takes the most RootMetrics national awards. AT&T wins time on network at 99.6%, which is the “am I connected at all” number, and it runs FirstNet on Band 14, a nationwide 700 MHz public safety license that quietly extends its reach along highways and into national parks.
If you are staying in New York, Los Angeles, Miami and Las Vegas, take T-Mobile and enjoy the speed. If your itinerary has a rental car in it, you want AT&T or Verizon.
Which US Network Does Each Travel eSIM Use?
Here is where this article earns its place. I checked all eight providers against their own published statements.
| Provider | US network | Named on their own page? |
|---|---|---|
| Nomad | AT&T + Verizon on capped plans, T-Mobile + AT&T on unlimited | Yes. The cleanest disclosure of all eight |
| MobiMatter | Per product. RoamVault = Verizon 5G + AT&T 5G. Airalo SKU = T-Mobile + Verizon | Yes, on each individual product page |
| Airalo | T-Mobile, plus one other it never names | Partial. Shows a T-Mobile chip and “+1 other” |
| Sim Local | Own brand not named. Its Lycamobile US plan is T-Mobile, which Lycamobile states directly | Indirectly |
| Ohayu | Claims AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon | Yes, but see below |
| Saily | Not disclosed. Deliberately | No |
| GigSky | Not disclosed | No |
| Amigo eSIM | Not disclosed | No |
Three observations that will save you money.
Verizon roaming is real now, and most guides say otherwise. For years the received wisdom was that travel eSIMs could only get AT&T or T-Mobile. That is out of date. Nomad names Verizon on its capped plans and MobiMatter’s RoamVault products name Verizon 5G outright. Given Verizon has the best coverage experience score in the country, that is the single most useful change in this market in two years.
Ohayu claiming all three carriers should be read as marketing. No travel eSIM realistically holds live commercial roaming on AT&T and T-Mobile and Verizon simultaneously on one profile. Treat it as unverified.
Whatever you get, you are deprioritised. Roaming traffic sits below the host carrier’s own postpaid subscribers when a cell is congested. Every vendor, reviewer and tester reports this, and no US carrier publishes a quality of service class for inbound international roaming, so nobody can tell you exactly how far below. You will feel it at 6pm in Times Square and at a stadium, and you will not feel it at all in Wyoming.
Three Things That Make the USA Different
1. There is now no 2G and no 3G. At all.
AT&T shut down 3G on 22 February 2022. T-Mobile followed on 1 July 2022. Verizon’s CDMA network went on 31 December 2022. And T-Mobile retired the last 2G GSM network in the United States on 3 August 2026, which was five days ago.
LTE is the floor. There is no fallback layer of any kind. This is a harder cutoff than almost anywhere else in the world, including Japan.
2. The bands are the reason phones die outside cities
The US rural layer is almost entirely sub-1 GHz spectrum on bands that foreign handsets frequently do not carry.

| Band | Frequency | Carrier | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| B71 | 600 MHz | T-Mobile | The extended range layer. Almost never fitted to European or Asian market phones |
| B13 | 700 MHz | Verizon | Backbone of Verizon LTE |
| B12 / B17 / B29 | 700 MHz | AT&T | Backbone of AT&T LTE |
| B14 | 700 MHz | AT&T FirstNet | Extends highway and national park coverage |
| B2 / B4 / B66 | 1900 / AWS | All three | Urban capacity. B66 rarely on EU phones |
| n41 | 2.5 GHz | T-Mobile | The mid-band 5G workhorse. Common on Japanese and Chinese phones, often missing on European ones |
| n77 | 3.7 GHz C-band | AT&T and Verizon | Not the same as Europe’s n78. A phone with n78 and no n77 gets no C-band 5G here |
The failure mode this produces is specific and I have watched it happen. The phone works fine in Manhattan on B2 and B66. It works in Las Vegas. Then you drive out toward the Grand Canyon and it goes to nothing, because everything outside town is on B71, B12 or B13 and your handset does not have them.
If three different eSIMs from three different providers all fail on the same phone in rural America, it is the phone.
3. Nobody will ask you to register anything
The United States is one of the easiest countries in the world on this. There is no federal SIM registration requirement. The GSMA notes that around 160 governments mandate prepaid SIM registration and that the US explicitly decided against it. No passport, no ID, no address, no biometrics.
Compare that with Japan’s new IC chip verification, India’s No Objection Certificate regime, or Spain’s in-person passport requirement, and the US is refreshingly boring. You can buy a USA travel SIM card with cash over the counter at any Walmart, Best Buy or airport kiosk, no questions asked. That makes the physical SIM a genuine fallback here in a way it is not in most countries, provided your handset still has a tray.
Our 8 eSIM Picks, Ranked
1. MobiMatter: cheapest, and the only one that names the carrier per product
Mobimatter
MobiMatter is a reseller of eSIMs from various brands, offering some of the cheapest Europe data around. However, the underlying network varies by plan and isn’t revealed upfront, so you can’t predict the connection. It’s a budget-friendly option with big data allowances and cashback.
- 4G/5G
- 4G/5G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- Up to 50% cashback with code ESIMDUDE
Pros
- Very low prices, from $0.90 per GB
- Plans up to 120GB available
- 50% cashback with code ESIMDUDE
- Marketplace with many plan options
Cons
- Network not disclosed per plan
- No published refund window
Mobimatter
Coupon codeMarketplace where network is a lottery
MobiMatter is a marketplace with 96 or so USA products from NextLink, Sparks, RoamVault, Three and eSIMGo, plus Airalo resold.
Prices: 2GB/15d $3.49, 5GB/30d $5.99, 10GB/30d $9.99 on NextLink, 10GB/30d $10.99 on RoamVault, 15GB/30d $12.99, 20GB/30d $16.99, 50GB/60d $39.99, 100GB/30d $69.99.
And here is the arbitrage that should decide your purchase. Airalo’s own USA 10GB for 30 days costs $22.50 on airalo.com and $14.99 on MobiMatter. Same product, 33% cheaper, and MobiMatter tells you it runs on T-Mobile and Verizon while Airalo’s own page will not.
RoamVault’s USA products name Verizon 5G and AT&T 5G on the product page, which is the best carrier transparency anywhere in this category. Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands are flagged on the NextLink products.
The catch: support is thin and slow, and one recurring complaint is that “when something goes wrong there is no real way to get support.” The two-month activation window catches people out. And RoamVault products do not support top-ups, so check before you buy the cheap one.
Choose MobiMatter if you want the lowest price in America and you want to know which tower you are on.
ESIMDUDE gives 50% cashback on your first MobiMatter order, capped at $5. On the $9.99 NextLink 10GB that is about $5 net for a month of data. MobiMatter details.
2. Nomad: the only brand that publishes the split
Nomad
Nomad was tested in Cologne, the Rhine valley and the Black Forest, and it earns a strong 4.5 rating. It works with iPhones from the XR onwards and Android devices from the Pixel 3 and Galaxy S20, though mainland China handsets and some carrier-locked US phones are not supported.
- 4G/5G
- 4G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- 15% OFF with code ESIMDUDE15
Pros
- Works with iPhone XR and later
- Android support from Pixel 3 and Galaxy S20
- Good 4.5 rating
Cons
- Mainland China handsets not supported
- Some carrier-locked US phones may refuse
Nomad
Coupon codeSolid 4G eSIM for Germany
Nomad does the thing I have been asking this industry to do for three years. It publishes, on its own site, which carriers its USA plans use, and it publishes that the answer differs between its capped and unlimited products.
Plans: 1GB/7d $5, 3GB/30d $8, 5GB/30d $12, 10GB/30d $20, 20GB/30d $34, 50GB/30d $41, 75GB/180d $89, 100GB/365d $120. Unlimited: 3d $11, 7d $23, 10d $32, 15d $44, 20d $52.
That 100GB for a year at $120 is a genuinely unusual SKU and it is the right product for anyone doing repeat US trips.
A traveller’s write-up of a four-person US trip on r/eSIMs matches what I saw: “upon landing in US after 3 4 mins eSIM was active” and it “works perfectly with YouTube and other streaming service, not perfect with voice calls like WhatsApp.”
The catch: its unlimited fair use is 2GB per day, then 512 kbps, which is the harshest throttle of the majors. Its own page and third party listings disagree on the speed, and I trust Nomad’s own 512 kbps figure. Setup friction comes up repeatedly, with one user reporting twenty minutes to configure the profile. And its coverage page says “coverage may not include overseas territories”, which is a soft exclusion of Puerto Rico rather than a clear answer.
Choose Nomad if you want AT&T and Verizon named in writing and you are buying capped data rather than unlimited.
ESIMDUDE15 takes 15% off Nomad, bringing 10GB to $17.00 and the 7-day unlimited to $19.55. Nomad promo code page.
3. Saily: the only cheap way to get a US phone number
Saily
Saily’s 4G eSIM was put through real-world testing in Berlin and Bavaria, from central Mitte to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The reported results focus on connectivity at key urban and travel locations, though the speed figures have not been filled in. You can save 20% using code ESIMDUDE.
- 4G/5G
- 4G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- 10% OFF with ESIMDUDE with code ESIMDUDE
Pros
- Tested in Berlin and Bavaria
- 4G network support
- 20% off with ESIMDUDE
- Rated 4.7 out of 5
Cons
- Speed test results missing
- No hotspot tethering
- No voice calls
Saily
Coupon codeSaily eSIM tested across Germany
Plans: 1GB/7d $3.99, 3GB/30d $8.99, 5GB/30d $13.99, 10GB/30d $22.99, 20GB/30d $36.99, unlimited from $45.99.
In June 2026 Saily added a real US +1 phone number as a $0.99 per month add-on. That is the standout feature in this entire article for one specific reason: American services demand a US number constantly. Bank verification, Uber, DoorDash, restaurant waitlists, delivery notifications, two factor codes. A data only eSIM cannot receive any of it.
Saily’s unlimited fair use is 5GB per day at full speed before dropping to 1 Mbps, which is the most generous daily allowance of the eight, and its Trustpilot score of 4.7 across roughly 25,000 to 29,000 reviews is the highest here.
The catch, and there are two big ones.
Saily excludes Alaska. Four independent sources confirm it and one quotes Saily’s own plan description promising coverage “in 113 countries, including the U.S. (excluding Alaska).” Hawaii is covered and has its own page. Puerto Rico is sold as a separate plan from $3.99.
And Saily will not tell you the carrier. That is the recurring criticism on r/NoContract and it has a real consequence in America: “If AT&T is congested you can’t switch to t-mobile or Verizon.” A single network lock with no failover is a genuine weakness in a country where congestion is the main problem.
Choose Saily if you need a US phone number, or you want the most generous unlimited threshold, and Alaska is not on your itinerary.
ESIMDUDE takes 10% off Saily. AFFMAVEN5 gives 5%. Take the 10%. Saily coupon code page.
4. Sim Local: the highest unlimited threshold in America
Sim Local
Sim Local offers a 20GB, 30-day plan for $22.05, making it a solid value option for travellers. With 4G coverage and a 10% discount code, it’s a practical choice for general travel use.
- 4G/5G
- 4G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- 10% OFF with code ESIMDUDE10
Pros
- Competitive price for 20GB
- 30-day validity
- 10% discount available
- 4G network technology
Cons
- No hotspot support
- No voice calls
- Limited network details
Sim Local
Coupon codeReliable travel eSIM with discount
Plans: 3GB/7d $7.25, 5GB/30d $9.75, 10GB/30d $17.50, 20GB/30d $28.50. Unlimited at 5GB per day: 7d $26.50, 15d $38.25. Unlimited at 10GB per day: 7d $36.25, 15d $52.25. Plus Three UK 18GB/30d at $26.75 and Lycamobile US 18GB/30d at $33.00, which Lycamobile itself confirms runs on T-Mobile.
That 10GB per day tier is the highest daily allowance in this entire article, by double. If you are hotspotting a laptop from an Airbnb in Austin for a fortnight, it is the only plan here you will not hit the ceiling on.
The catch: “unlimited” is a daily cap dressed up, same as everywhere. Installation friction shows up in reviews, with one reading “couldn’t get it working. Convoluted install.” Some plans do not show usage tracking in the app. And its own brand does not name its host carrier, only the Lycamobile line does.
Choose Sim Local if you need heavy daily data or you specifically want a Lycamobile product on T-Mobile.
ESIMDUDE10, ESIMADVICE or ESIMNINJA10 each take 10% off Sim Local. On the 15-day 10GB per day plan that is about $5.23 back.
5. Airalo: the biggest catalogue, and 33% more expensive than its own product
AIRALO
Airalo offers flexible data-only eSIMs across 185 countries, with plans starting at $4 and per-GB costs as low as $0.50. Its seamless plan ladder, from 1GB to 50GB, suits travellers who aren’t yet sure how much data they’ll need. Promo codes can bring the price down further, especially for new customers.
- 4G/5G
- 4G/5G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Prices from
- $4.00
- Discount
- 15% OFF with code ESIMADVICE15
Pros
- Flexible plan ladder from 1GB to 50GB
- Excellent per-GB pricing on larger data packs
- Regional Oceanlink plan covers eight countries
- Promo codes cut costs further
Cons
- Optus-only network in Australia
- Data-only, with no calls or SMS
- Unlimited plans throttle hard after 3GB daily
AIRALO
Coupon codeWide data ladder, deep discounts
Airalo’s USA eSIM is branded Change. Capped tiers: 1GB/3d $4.00, 3GB/7d $9.00, 5GB/30d $13.50, 10GB/30d $22.50, 20GB/30d $36.50, 50GB/30d $42.00. Unlimited: 3d $11.50, 7d $25.00, 15d $46.00, 30d $68.00, with fair use at 3GB per day before 1 Mbps and explicitly no tethering limits.
Airalo is one of the few providers that appears to include Alaska and Puerto Rico in its USA coverage, though it also sells a separate Puerto Rico eSIM, which muddies the message. Its app is the best in the category and its catalogue is the widest.
The catch, and it is a $7.51 catch. Airalo’s own USA 10GB/30d plan sells for $14.99 on MobiMatter and $22.50 on airalo.com. Identical product. That is a 33% premium for buying direct.
Airalo’s USA page as I checked it displays only the unlimited tiers, which are worse value per gigabyte than the capped ones. Its Trustpilot score is 4.0 across 20,979 reviews, the lowest of the majors here. And travellers report US traffic being hairpinned through Europe, producing high ping.
Choose Airalo if you want Alaska and Puerto Rico covered by one product and you value the app. Then buy it through MobiMatter.
New to Airalo? ESIMADVICE15 takes 15% off, bringing 10GB to $19.13. Existing customer? ESIMADVICE10 gives 10% off any order. Airalo promo code page.
6. Ohayu: legitimate, and there is no reason to pick it
OHAYU
Ohayu is a legitimate eSIM provider registered in Cyprus, with real apps and a solid Trustpilot rating. However, its unlimited plan reportedly caps at 1 Mbps, and its prices are higher than most competitors. It’s fine for existing customers, but new users have better options.
- 4G/5G
- 4G/5G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Prices from
- $4.49
- Discount
- 10% OFF with code ESIMADVICE
Pros
- Legitimate, Cyprus-registered company with verified app listings
- Real apps with over 50,000 Android installs and 4.4 Trustpilot rating
- Wide choice of data packages and unlimited plans
- 10% discount available through eSIMAdvice
Cons
- Unlimited plan reportedly throttled to 1 Mbps throughout
- Prices are above market at every comparable tier
- Some reports of iPhone issues and background data charges
OHAYU
Coupon codeLegitimate, yet priced above rivals
Ohayu is run by Kridelo Limited, registered in Nicosia, Cyprus, confirmed three ways: Apple’s App Store seller field, the Google Play developer name, and independent review coverage. It has real apps, 50,000 plus Android installs, and a Trustpilot score of 4.4 across 423 reviews with replies to 100% of negative ones.
Plans: 3GB/14d $8.49, 5GB/30d $13.49, 10GB/30d $21.49, 15GB/60d $27.79, 20GB/90d $34.49, 50GB/90d $73.49, plus monthly subscriptions. Unlimited: 5d $17.99, 10d $33.99, 15d $39.99. No 1GB tier, no 7-day capped tier, no 30-day unlimited.
It is not a scam. I want to be clear about that, because two Reddit threads with “scam” in the title rank on the first page for its name.
The catch, and this is the thing to check before you buy. Its unlimited plan is recorded by the eSIMDB index as having a maximum speed of 1 Mbps throughout, rather than a high-speed daily allowance followed by a throttle. If that is right, it is materially worse than Airalo at 3GB per day, Saily at 5GB, GigSky at 3.5GB and even Nomad at 2GB. I could not render Ohayu’s own terms to confirm it, so treat it as unverified and ask support before paying.
Its Trustpilot negatives include “absolute scam do not use with iPhone” and a complaint about being charged 3.22GB for background app data. And it is priced above market at every comparable tier.
Choose Ohayu if you already use it. Nothing here beats the five above.
ESIMADVICE takes 10% off Ohayu, bringing 10GB to $19.34. That is still above Nomad after its discount.
7. GigSky: an American company with no American advantage
GigSky
GigSky’s free 100MB seven-day trial is genuinely handy for checking that your phone accepts the eSIM profile. At $25.49 for 10GB after the 15% discount, it is the dearest per-gigabyte option in this round-up, so the advice is to use the trial and buy elsewhere.
- 4G/5G
- 4G/5G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- 15% OFF with code ESIMADVICE15
Pros
- Free 100MB trial lasts seven days
- Confirms your handset accepts the eSIM profile
- Uses 4G/5G networks
- 15% discount available with promo code
Cons
- Dearest per gigabyte among compared providers
- 10GB costs $25.49 after discount
- No hotspot or calls included
GigSky
Coupon codeUseful trial, but pricey data
GigSky is headquartered in Palo Alto, California. You would expect that to buy it something in its home market. It does not.
USA plans: 3.5GB per day for 5 days $16.99, 50GB/90d $39.99, 3.5GB per day for 30 days $69.99. North America: 20GB/180d $29.99, unlimited 30d $89.99, plus a free 100MB trial for 7 days. Fair use is 3.5GB per day.
There is no 1GB, 3GB, 5GB, 10GB or 20GB USA tier, and no 7-day or 30-day capped option. The lineup is daily-cap or bulk only.
Its one genuine advantage is the North America product, which explicitly lists Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands alongside the US, Canada and Mexico. That is more clarity on territories than most providers manage.
The catch: both its USA and North America pages returned “Data plans for this region are temporarily unavailable for purchase” on the day I checked. It does not name its US carrier. Trustpilot sits at 4.1 across 1,628 reviews. And its complaint magnet is cruise connectivity, with reviews like “not 1 single Kb of data or connection.”
Choose GigSky if you want the free 100MB trial to verify activation before spending, or you need Puerto Rico and the USVI covered explicitly.
ESIMADVICE15 takes 15% off GigSky, AFFMAVEN10 gives 10%. GigSky promo code page.
8. Amigo eSIM: there is no USA product here
Amigo eSIM
Amigo eSIM confirms support for Optus and Telstra MobileNet, securing a strong network experience. Plans are priced in pounds, and applying our 12% discount lowers the cost. This 4G travel eSIM does not include hotspot or calling features.
- 4G/5G
- 4G
- Hotspot
- No
- Calls
- No
- Discount
- 12% OFF with ESIMDUDE with code ESIMDUDE
Pros
- Confirmed Optus and Telstra support
- 12% discount available
- 4G network technology
- Strong 4.6 user rating
Cons
- No hotspot tethering
- No calling features
- Pricing only in pounds
Amigo eSIM
Coupon codeReliable 4G with 12% discount
Stating this plainly, because it will save you time: Amigo sells exactly one USA-only plan. 1GB, 7 days, $6.00. No 3GB, no 5GB, no 10GB, no 20GB, no unlimited.
For anything larger you buy a North America regional plan: 3GB/14d $17.00, 5GB/14d $26.00, 10GB/30d $42.00. That last one works out at $4.20 per gigabyte, which is four times MobiMatter’s $1.00.
Its Three-branded roaming plans at 12GB for $20.00 and 18GB for $26.00 are the only competitive things on the page, and those are Three UK roaming into the US rather than a US product.
Trustpilot is 4.5 across 76 reviews. Its US App Store listing has zero ratings. There is no Reddit discussion of it in a US context at all.
Choose Amigo if unlimited tethering in writing is your requirement and you will pay four times the going rate for it.
The Unlimited Question, and the Number Nobody Publishes
Every “unlimited” USA plan has a daily cap. What matters is the gigabytes per day and what happens after.
| Provider | 7-day unlimited | Full speed per day | Then |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sim Local Pro | $36.25 | 10GB per day | Throttled |
| Sim Local | $26.50 | 5GB per day | Throttled |
| Saily | $45.99 | 5GB per day | 1 Mbps |
| GigSky (5 days) | $16.99 | 3.5GB per day | Throttled |
| Airalo | $25.00 | 3GB per day | 1 Mbps |
| Nomad | $23.00 | 2GB per day | 512 kbps |
| Ohayu (5 days) | $17.99 | 1 Mbps throughout, unverified | n/a |
| T-Mobile U.S. Pass | $25.00 | 50GB premium 5G | 2.5 Mbps video cap |
Read the last row twice.
T-Mobile launched U.S. Pass on 18 May 2026, a prepaid eSIM built specifically for inbound international visitors. $25 for 7 days, $30 for 10, $35 for 14, $50 for 30. Every tier gives unlimited 5G with 50GB at premium speeds, 14GB to 50GB of hotspot, unlimited talk and text, a US phone number, and 5GB of high-speed data in Mexico and Canada. No US address, no social security number, no credit check, no paperwork.
At seven days it costs exactly the same $25 as Airalo unlimited, and gives you 50GB of premium data instead of 3GB a day, native priority instead of roaming deprioritisation, and a phone number instead of nothing.
The catch, and it is the only reason this article is not one sentence long: U.S. Pass must be activated inside the United States through T-Mobile’s prepaid eSIM app. You cannot install it before you fly. You will need airport wifi on arrival, which at JFK and LAX is fine and at some regional airports is not.
I am an affiliate for several providers on this page and I am telling you a carrier product beats all of them on value. That is what the numbers say.
Coverage Reality: Where the USA Actually Breaks
Crowdsourced measurement from CoverageMap, which combines user speed tests with FCC signal data.
| Location | Verizon | AT&T | T-Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yellowstone National Park | 29.1% | 15.2% | 5.4% |
| Alaska, statewide | 3.7% | 6.9% | 0.0% |
That Alaska row is not a typo. Across more than 22,000 tests, T-Mobile registered zero percent. An Airalo or Saily eSIM riding T-Mobile in Alaska is close to useless outside Anchorage, and Saily excludes Alaska from its plan anyway.
The desert Southwest and Route 66 have extended no-signal zones regardless of carrier. Holafly’s own product page admits it, which is unusual and worth quoting: “if you travel to mountainous or desert areas such as Page or the Grand Canyon, you may experience unstable coverage.”
Hawaii has specific, named dead zones. On Maui the back side of Haleakalā has essentially no native coverage from any of the three, and the Hana Highway goes intermittent past Pāʻia. On the Big Island it is Saddle Road, the Mauna Kea summit road above the visitor centre, and Chain of Craters Road. On Oahu, Kaʻena Point and the Diamond Head crater interior. On Kauai, the Nā Pali Coast Trail and the Waimea Canyon overlooks.
Download offline maps for any national park before you go. This is the one destination where I would say that as a hard rule rather than a suggestion.
Does a USA eSIM Work in Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico?
For an American subscriber these are ordinary domestic locations with no roaming charge. For a travel eSIM they are a separate roaming question governed by the host carrier’s agreement, and providers are evasive about it.
| Provider | Alaska | Hawaii | Puerto Rico |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airalo | Reported covered | Not stated | Yes, though also sold separately |
| GigSky | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, explicitly listed with USVI |
| MobiMatter | Assumed in | Assumed in | Yes, flagged on NextLink products |
| Saily | EXCLUDED | Yes, dedicated page | Sold as a separate plan from $3.99 |
| Nomad | Not stated | Not stated | Soft exclusion: “may not include overseas territories” |
| Sim Local, Ohayu, Amigo | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
If Alaska or Puerto Rico are on your itinerary, open a support ticket and get the answer in writing before you pay. And remember that even a plan that technically covers Alaska is worthless there if it rides T-Mobile.
How Much Data You Actually Need?
Ericsson puts North American consumption at 25GB per month per active smartphone in 2025. That is a resident with home wifi.
There is no credible study of tourist data consumption in the United States. None. Every “you need 20GB” claim comes from someone selling you 20GB. What is genuinely different about America is that free wifi is excellent and everywhere, at airports, hotels, Starbucks, libraries and most chain restaurants. You will be on it more than you expect.
| Trip style | Per day | 7 days | 14 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cities only, hotel wifi at night | 0.3 to 0.6GB | 5GB | 10GB |
| Typical visitor: maps, rideshare, socials, restaurant search | 0.8 to 1.2GB | 10GB | 20GB |
| Road trip with heavy navigation between towns | 1.5 to 2GB | 15GB | 30GB |
| Hotspotting a laptop, working remotely | 2 to 3GB+ | Unlimited | Unlimited |
A road trip eats more than a city break here, because you are navigating constantly between places rather than walking a grid.
Setting Up a USA eSIM

Look up your exact model number and confirm it supports B71, B12 and B13, plus n41 and n77 if you want 5G. A European or Asian handset that has none of them will work in Manhattan and die in Utah. On iPhone, also confirm Settings, General, About, Carrier Lock reads “No SIM restrictions.”
US, Canadian, Japanese and Mexican iPhone 14 and later have no physical SIM tray. European, Australian, New Zealand, Singaporean and Korean models keep it. That matters because Canada, Japan and Mexico are three of the largest source markets for US travel, and visitors from all three physically cannot fall back to a plastic prepaid SIM from a Walmart.
QR code activation needs wifi, so every travel eSIM has to be downloaded before you are in the air. Install at home the night before and let it activate on landing. The exception is T-Mobile’s U.S. Pass, which by design must be activated after you arrive.
Your eSIM attaches to a US partner network, your phone classes that as roaming, and it will block data until you allow it. Settings, Cellular, tap the travel line, Cellular Data Options, Data Roaming on. Leave it off on your home line.
That second setting is what quietly moves your data back onto your home carrier at their prices the moment you take a call.
Settings, Cellular, tap the line, Network Selection, off Automatic, then pick AT&T or T-Mobile to match your plan. On Android, Settings, Network and internet, SIMs, Network.
Things Nobody Tells You
Frequently Asked Questions
Which US carrier does a travel eSIM use?
AT&T, T-Mobile or Verizon depending on the provider and the plan. Nomad publishes the clearest split, using AT&T and Verizon on its capped plans and T-Mobile and AT&T on unlimited. MobiMatter names the carrier on each individual product page. Airalo shows a T-Mobile chip plus an unnamed second network. Saily, GigSky and Amigo do not disclose it at all.
Can a travel eSIM get on Verizon?
Yes, as of 2026, and most guides still say otherwise. MobiMatter’s RoamVault products name Verizon 5G and AT&T 5G outright, and Nomad names Verizon on its capped plans. This matters because Verizon scores highest on Opensignal’s coverage experience at 9.7 out of 10 and has by far the best measured coverage in Yellowstone.
Is a travel eSIM deprioritised on US networks?
Yes. Roaming traffic sits below the host carrier’s own postpaid subscribers when a cell is congested, which is standard for wholesale traffic worldwide. No US carrier publishes a quality of service class for inbound international roaming, so the exact QCI value is undocumented. In practice you notice it in dense crowds and stadiums, not on the open road.
Which LTE and 5G bands do I need for the USA?
For LTE, B2, B4 and B66 cover cities, and B71, B12, B13 and B14 cover everything outside them. For 5G, n41 is T-Mobile’s mid-band and n77 is AT&T and Verizon’s C-band. Europe’s n78 is a different band and will not get you C-band 5G here. Missing the sub-1 GHz LTE bands is the single most common reason a foreign phone works in New York and fails in Arizona.
Is there still 3G or 2G in the USA?
No. AT&T shut down 3G in February 2022, T-Mobile in July 2022 and Verizon in December 2022. T-Mobile retired the last 2G GSM network on 3 August 2026. LTE with VoLTE is now the minimum requirement, and a device that cannot register IMS has no voice service at all.
Does a USA eSIM work in Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico?
It depends on the provider and you should get it in writing. Saily explicitly excludes Alaska and sells Puerto Rico separately. Airalo reportedly covers Alaska and Puerto Rico. GigSky’s North America plan lists Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands explicitly. Nomad says coverage may not include overseas territories. Note that T-Mobile measures 0.0% coverage in Alaska, so a T-Mobile-hosted eSIM there is nearly useless regardless of what the plan says.
Does a USA travel eSIM give me a US phone number?
Almost never. Every plan in this article is data only except through an add-on. Saily sells a real US +1 number for $0.99 per month, added in June 2026, which is the only cheap route to one. T-Mobile’s U.S. Pass includes a number with unlimited talk and text. This matters more in America than most places, because banks, rideshare and delivery apps all demand a US number for verification.
Do I need to register a SIM or show ID in the USA?
No. The United States has no federal SIM registration requirement and explicitly decided against one, unlike roughly 160 other countries. No passport, no address, no ID. You can buy a prepaid SIM with cash.
Can I use a physical SIM instead of an eSIM in the USA?
Only if your phone has a tray. US, Canadian, Japanese and Mexican iPhone 14 and later are eSIM-only with no SIM slot. European, Australian, New Zealand, Singaporean and Korean models still have one. If you arrive with a US-model phone, eSIM is your only option.
Is unlimited USA eSIM data really unlimited?
No. Sim Local’s Pro tier gives 10GB per day at full speed, Saily gives 5GB, GigSky 3.5GB, Airalo 3GB and Nomad 2GB before dropping to 512 kbps. T-Mobile’s own U.S. Pass gives 50GB of premium 5G on a 7-day pass, which is more high-speed data than any of them.
What is the cheapest eSIM for the USA?
MobiMatter’s NextLink plan at $9.99 for 10GB over 30 days, which is $1.00 per gigabyte. Its 5GB plan is $5.99. Both are roughly half what Airalo and Saily charge for the same allowance, and MobiMatter also resells Airalo’s own USA plan at $14.99 against $22.50 on Airalo’s site.
Is a USA eSIM card better than international roaming from my home carrier?
Almost always, on price. Most European and Australian carriers charge $10 to $15 a day for a US roaming pass, so three days costs more than a full month of prepaid data from MobiMatter. The exception is if your home plan already includes the US at no extra cost, which a few UK and EU tariffs do. Check that first, because an eSIM buys you nothing if roaming is already bundled.
Which eSIM USA tourist plan is best for a two-week trip?
For city travel, MobiMatter’s 20GB for $16.99. For a road trip with heavy navigation, Nomad’s 20GB at $34 on AT&T and Verizon, or Sim Local’s 15-day plan at 10GB per day. If you want USA eSIM unlimited data specifically, Sim Local’s Pro tier is the only one with a daily threshold you are unlikely to reach, and T-Mobile’s own 14-day U.S. Pass at $35 beats all of them on allowance.
Should I buy a US prepaid SIM instead of a travel eSIM?
For anything over a week, seriously consider it. T-Mobile’s U.S. Pass costs $25 for 7 days or $50 for 30 with 50GB of premium 5G, native priority and a phone number, and needs no US address or social security number. US Mobile’s Warp tier runs on Verizon from around $22.50 a month, which is the only way to get native Verizon priority. The trade is that most of them must be activated after you land.
Why trust eSIMTweaks.
59 providers tested.
388 speed tests run.
20 countries covered.
More like this
About the author
Head of Network Testing
I lead field testing at eSIMTweaks, conducting speed, latency and reliability trials on live networks across Latin America and Southern Europe. In the past year I evaluated more than 60 eSIM profiles under real travel conditions. Every performance figure we publish originates from testing I run or supervise.












