Best eSIM for Spain 2026: 7 Plans + Canary Islands Warning

Compare 7 tested eSIM for Spain plans from $9.79 — real speed tests, 5G coverage, and Canary Islands warnings.

Updated on

August 13, 2026

Dean Alvarez

Editor-in-Chief

Currently eSIM testing in: UAE

Best eSIM for Spain
On this page
Ranked · 33 eSIMs compared for Spain

Our top picks

Updated Sep 2026
★ Top pick
01
Best overall for Spain

GigSky

4.7· top rated of 33 compared

GigSky’s free 100MB seven-day trial is genuinely handy for checking that your phone accepts the eSIM profile. At $25.49 for 10GB after the 15% discount, it is the dearest per-gigabyte option in this round-up, so the advice is to use the trial and buy elsewhere.

From $0.53 / GB 15% OFF
02

Mobimatter

MobiMatter is a reseller of eSIMs from various brands, offering some of the cheapest Europe data around. However, the underlying network varies by plan and isn’t revealed upfront, so you can’t predict the connection. It’s a budget-friendly option with big data allowances and cashback.

Up to 50% cashback From $0.30 / GB
Get deal
03

Saily

Saily’s 4G eSIM was put through real-world testing in Berlin and Bavaria, from central Mitte to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The reported results focus on connectivity at key urban and travel locations, though the speed figures have not been filled in. You can save 20% using code ESIMDUDE.

10% OFF with ESIMDUDE From $0.80 / GB
Get deal

Best eSIM for Spain: GigSky at $9.79 for 10GB over 30 days, or MobiMatter’s Sparks plan at $13.49 for 15GB if you want the lowest cost per gigabyte.

MobiMatter explicitly covers the Canaries and Balearics, while GigSky does not clearly state island coverage.

That distinction matters. Some major eSIM providers are surprisingly vague about whether their standard Spain plan covers the Canary Islands, and at least one also sells a separate Canary Islands eSIM.

I will show you exactly what each provider says below, including the coverage wording on its own site.

5 Things to Know Before Buying an eSIM for Spain in 2026

If you live in the EU, do not buy anything.

Roam Like At Home covers Spain, the Balearics and the Canaries on your existing SIM. Over 60% of Spain’s visitors are EU residents. Most of you are being sold a solution to a problem you do not have.

Airalo’s Spain Plan Is Unclear About the Canaries.

Its own coverage text reads “Covers mainland Spain but also the Balearic Islands (Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza).” No Canaries. It then sells a separate Canary Islands eSIM.

Orange and Yoigo are now the same network.

Orange completed a €4.25bn buyout of MasOrange on 9 June 2026 and owns 100% of it. Any provider advertising “Orange plus Yoigo redundancy” is selling you one network twice.

The gap between Spain’s fastest and slowest network is 2.5x.

Movistar measured 96.7 Mbps against Vodafone’s 37.7 Mbps in the most recent independent testing. And almost nobody tells you which one you are buying.

Install before you fly.

Every time. QR code activation needs wifi, and Spain’s new biometric border system went fully live on 10 April 2026, so the queues at Barajas and El Prat are longer than they were last year.

Spain eSIM Comparison: 7 Plans at a Glance

ProviderBest forSpain 10GB/30dCost per GBCarrierCode
GigSkyCheapest exact tier$9.79$0.98Undisclosed, multi-networkESIMADVICE15
MobiMatter (Sparks)Lowest cost per GB$13.49 (15GB)$0.90Movistar / Orange / VodafoneESIMDUDE
SailyIslands clarity, phone number$15.99$1.60UndisclosedESIMDUDE
NomadSolid mid-price$14.00$1.40UndisclosedESIMDUDE15
AiraloNamed carrier, biggest catalogue$14.00$1.40OrangeESIMADVICE15
Sim LocalNames all four carriers$15.50$1.55Movistar, Vodafone, Yoigo, OrangeESIMDUDE10
Amigo eSIMMulti-country at one price$20.00 (12GB)$1.67Orange, VodafoneESIMDUDE

Spain’s Networks, Measured

Opensignal’s Spain report published May 2026, covering January to March 2026, is the most recent independent measurement there is. These numbers should drive your decision more than any brand name.

MetricMovistarOrangeYoigoDIGIVodafone
Download speed96.7 Mbps66.845.139.837.7
Upload speed15.3 Mbps12.912.011.814.2
5G download241.7 Mbps180.4160.1260.4122.9
Time on 5G45.2%31.3%14.8%16.8%17.7%
5G availability83.8%84.2%80.7%77.2%80.9%
Consistent quality81.0%78.8%77.6%74.0%76.6%
Reliability915909900844913

Movistar took Best Network with ten outright awards. DIGI was the only other outright winner, taking both 5G speed awards.

Three things fall out of that table.

Movistar’s 96.7 Mbps is 45% ahead of second place. That is not a rounding difference, that is a different product. It also spends 45.2% of the time actually on 5G, against 17.7% for Vodafone.

Vodafone Spain is now the slowest major network in the country. 37.7 Mbps overall and 122.9 Mbps on 5G, which is less than half DIGI’s. It holds up on reliability at 913, so it will not drop you, it will just be slow. Zegona bought Vodafone Spain from Vodafone Group in May 2024 and the speed numbers have not recovered.

DIGI has Spain’s fastest 5G at 260.4 Mbps, but it trails badly on consistency and reliability. Its consistent quality is the lowest at 74.0%, reliability is lowest at 844, and it spends only 16.8% of the time on 5G.

Best Mobile Networks in Barcelona and Madrid

Download speedBarcelonaMadrid
Movistar103.3 Mbps123.5 Mbps
Orange95.399.3
Yoigo58.162.5
DIGI49.853.6
Vodafone36.843.0

Movistar wins both cities on speed, consistency and reliability. Orange leads narrowly on 5G availability. Vodafone is last in both. The same pattern holds in Seville, Málaga, Valencia and Zaragoza, the other four cities Opensignal measures.

The catch on all of this: Opensignal only measures six mainland cities. Barcelona, Madrid, Málaga, Sevilla, Valencia and Zaragoza. There is no independent measured data for the Balearics, the Canaries or rural Spain. Every guide that tells you which network is “best in Mallorca” is guessing.

So am I, and I am telling you that instead of pretending otherwise. What I can say is that Movistar has the strongest published rural footprint, at 95% 5G population coverage and 5G standalone in more than 5,700 municipalities.

The Canary Islands eSIM Trap

This is the single most useful thing on this page, so I am giving it its own section.

The Canary Islands sit outside the EU VAT area and outside the customs union. They are inside the EU roaming zone. All four Spanish networks operate there natively. Legally, a Spain plan should work there.

Some providers sell you a second eSIM anyway.

ProviderCanaries covered by the Spain plan?
SailyYes, explicitly. Its Canary Islands page says “buy a data plan that works anywhere in Spain”
Sim LocalYes, explicitly. Names Gran Canaria, Tenerife and Lanzarote
MobiMatterYes. Runs Canaries and Tenerife pages and treats them as covered by Spain plans
AiraloUnclear — Spain page names the Balearics but not the Canaries; Airalo has previously confirmed Canary coverage separately
GigSky, Nomad, AmigoNot stated anywhere. They will not tell us

Airalo’s own Spain coverage line is: “Covers mainland Spain but also the Balearic Islands (Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza).” Read it twice. The Balearics are named. The Canaries are not.

And Airalo has been confused about this itself. Airalo’s current Spain product page does not clearly confirm Canary Islands coverage, despite Airalo previously saying the plan covers them. It also continues to sell a separate Canary Islands eSIM.

Two years later the product page still names only the Balearics, and a separate Canary Islands eSIM is still on sale.

The catch: the Balearics and the Canaries between them took 31.4 million visitors in 2025, which is a third of everyone who came to Spain. This is not an edge case. Mallorca, Ibiza and Menorca took 15.7 million. Tenerife, Gran Canaria and Lanzarote took another 15.7 million.

If you are going to the islands, buy from a provider that says so in writing. If a provider will not put it in writing, ask support and screenshot the answer before you pay.

Do You Actually Need a Spain eSIM at All?

Genuine question, and for a lot of you the answer is no.

Spain eSIM decision Guide By Traveller type

If you live in the EU or EEA: your existing SIM works in Spain at your domestic rates under Roam Like At Home, including the Balearics and the Canaries.

Your carrier can apply a fair-use cap on data, but that allowance may already be more than enough for a typical one- or two-week Spain trip. Do not buy another plan unless you actually need more data.

If you live in the UK: it depends entirely on your carrier, because Roam Like At Home stopped being automatic after Brexit. O2 customers are repeatedly told on Spanish travel forums to just use their existing SIM, because O2 still includes EU roaming.

If your carrier charges a daily roaming fee, a Spain eSIM beats it on any trip over about three days. Check your carrier’s page before you buy anything here. The UK sent 19.1 million visitors to Spain in 2025, the largest single market, so this applies to a lot of people.

If you live in the US, Canada or Australia: yes, buy a Spain eSIM. Your home carrier’s international roaming will cost you $10 to $12 a day, and the best eSIM Spain sells will cost you less than that for a week. This page is for you.

If you are staying longer than two weeks: consider a local Spanish prepaid SIM or a physical Spain travel SIM card instead.

Vodafone Spain’s Prepago plans run around €10 to €15 a month for 50GB to 240GB of prepaid data, which is ten to twenty times better on cost per gigabyte than anything in this article.

The catch is that Spanish law requires SIM registration with a passport, so you normally have to do it in person.

The workaround, which almost nobody publishes: Vodafone’s esimprepago.vodafone.es flow lets you scan your passport and take a selfie to activate a Spanish eSIM remotely before you arrive.

  • I am an affiliate for several providers on this page and I am telling you that a local Spanish SIM is better value than all of them. That is the honest answer and you can check it in ten minutes.
    Dean Alvarez

Seven eSIMs for Spain, Ranked by Price & Coverage

1. GigSky: cheapest exact tier, and it is not close

Testing device compatibility

GigSky

GigSky’s free 100MB seven-day trial is genuinely handy for checking that your phone accepts the eSIM profile. At $25.49 for 10GB after the 15% discount, it is the dearest per-gigabyte option in this round-up, so the advice is to use the trial and buy elsewhere.

4G/5G
4G/5G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
15% OFF with code ESIMADVICE15

Pros

  • Free 100MB trial lasts seven days
  • Confirms your handset accepts the eSIM profile
  • Uses 4G/5G networks
  • 15% discount available with promo code

Cons

  • Dearest per gigabyte among compared providers
  • 10GB costs $25.49 after discount
  • No hotspot or calls included
★ Limited-time coupon code

GigSky

Coupon code
15% OFF
$9.79 $8.32 on a 10 GB Spain plan

Useful trial, but pricey data

Your code ESIMADVICE15
✓ Testing device compatibility✓ New & existing users
Redeem GigSky code Verified 12 Aug 2026
  • $9.79 for 10GB/30d
  • $0.98 per GB
  • 5G yes
  • hotspot yes
  • top-up yes
  • carrier undisclosed

Spain plans: 500MB/7d free, 1GB/7d $2.99, 3GB/15d $5.99, 5GB/30d $8.29, 10GB/30d $9.79, 20GB/90d $16.99, 50GB/180d $33.89. Unlimited daily plans run 3.5GB per day before slowing, at $65.49 for 30 days.

At $9.79 for 10GB it is 30% cheaper than Airalo and Nomad, and 39% cheaper than Saily for the same allowance and the same duration. Hotspot is explicitly unlimited. Top-ups add a plan to the existing eSIM with no reinstall. The free 500MB trial means you can install at home, land at El Prat, and confirm the profile attaches before you spend anything.

The catch: GigSky’s own Spain page currently returns “No country plans found”, so you can only see pricing in the app or at checkout. That is poor. And it does not name its Spanish carrier, saying only that it connects to “the fastest network available”.

If they will not name the carrier, assume it is the cheapest one available. Given Vodafone Spain is now the slowest major network in the country, that is a live risk.

Worth it if you want the lowest price on an exact 10GB tier and you can live without knowing the network.

ESIMADVICE15 takes 15% off GigSky. That drops 10GB to $8.32. AFFMAVEN10 gives 10% if the other one is dead. Verified working. GigSky promo code page.

2. MobiMatter (Sparks): lowest cost per gigabyte in Spain

Budget data hunters

Mobimatter

MobiMatter is a reseller of eSIMs from various brands, offering some of the cheapest Europe data around. However, the underlying network varies by plan and isn’t revealed upfront, so you can’t predict the connection. It’s a budget-friendly option with big data allowances and cashback.

4G/5G
4G/5G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
Up to 50% cashback with code ESIMDUDE

Pros

  • Very low prices, from $0.90 per GB
  • Plans up to 120GB available
  • 50% cashback with code ESIMDUDE
  • Marketplace with many plan options

Cons

  • Network not disclosed per plan
  • No published refund window
★ Limited-time coupon code

Mobimatter

Coupon code
50% OFF
$10.49 $5.25 on a 10 GB Spain plan

Marketplace where network is a lottery

Your code ESIMDUDE
✓ Budget data hunters✓ New & existing users
Redeem Mobimatter code Verified 12 Aug 2026
  • $13.49 for 15GB/30d
  • $0.90 per GB
  • carrier varies by vendor

MobiMatter is a marketplace, not a provider. Its Spain vendors are Sparks, Bouygues, NextLink and Three. The Sparks Spain and Portugal plans are the ones to look at: 7GB/30d $8.49, 15GB/30d $13.49, 30GB/30d $24.49, 50GB/30d $36.49.

There is no exact 10GB tier, which is why it sits second rather than first. But 15GB for $13.49 is more data than any 10GB plan here, for less money than four of them. That is $0.90 per gigabyte, the lowest in Spain.

It also has the cheapest Europe regional plan on this page by a wide margin: NextLink 12GB/30d at $10.99, which is $0.92 per gigabyte against Airalo’s $3.10 and Saily’s $3.60.

MobiMatter’s own Spain guide names Movistar, Orange and Vodafone as the networks its eSIMs use, which is more than most. And it treats the Canaries and Tenerife as covered by Spain plans rather than selling them separately.

The catch: support. MobiMatter’s Trustpilot profile carries a 4.3 score across 52,391 reviews, and the profile itself flags “75% of negative reviews” and “typically takes over 1 month to reply.” One review on r/eSIMs reads “Mobimatter does not prioritize customer satisfaction or accountability.” Refunds and top-up policies vary by vendor, so you are buying from a third party with MobiMatter in the middle.

Worth it if price per gigabyte is your priority, or you are crossing into Portugal, and you accept that support is slow.

ESIMDUDE gives 50% cashback on your first MobiMatter order, capped at $5. On the $13.49 Sparks plan that is close to $8.50 net. MobiMatter coupon details.

3. Saily: the clearest islands answer, and the only phone number

General travel use

Saily

Saily’s 4G eSIM was put through real-world testing in Berlin and Bavaria, from central Mitte to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The reported results focus on connectivity at key urban and travel locations, though the speed figures have not been filled in. You can save 20% using code ESIMDUDE.

4G/5G
4G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
10% OFF with ESIMDUDE with code ESIMDUDE

Pros

  • Tested in Berlin and Bavaria
  • 4G network support
  • 20% off with ESIMDUDE
  • Rated 4.7 out of 5

Cons

  • Speed test results missing
  • No hotspot tethering
  • No voice calls
★ Limited-time coupon code

Saily

Coupon code
10% OFF
$15.99 $14.39 on a 10 GB Spain plan

Saily eSIM tested across Germany

Your code ESIMDUDE
✓ General travel use✓ New & existing users
Redeem Saily code Verified 12 Aug 2026
  • $15.99 for 10GB/30d
  • $1.60 per GB
  • 5G yes
  • hotspot yes
  • Top-up yes
  • carrier undisclosed

Spain plans: 1GB/7d $3.99, 3GB/30d $6.99, 5GB/30d $9.99, 10GB/30d $15.99, 20GB/30d $22.99, unlimited $43.99.

Two things Saily does better than everyone here.

Its unlimited fair use threshold is 5GB per day, published in its own documentation, before dropping to 1 Mbps or less. Airalo throttles at 3GB per day and Nomad at 2GB. Saily’s 5GB daily allowance is one of the most generous mainstream options.

Saily is the only provider here that explicitly offers a separate phone-number add-on. Its call and SMS add-on plans are separate purchases, but they exist. Everything else here is data only.

Its Canary Islands page is also the clearest statement of coverage anyone publishes: “Get more than an eSIM for Canary Islands, buy a data plan that works anywhere in Spain.” One plan, no surcharge.

Trustpilot 4.7 across 28,763 reviews is the highest of any major provider on this page.

The catch: Saily will not tell you which Spanish network it uses. Its own FAQ says it “isn’t actually a network operator but an eSIM app that uses these existing Spanish networks as partners”, which names nothing.

That opacity is the specific, repeated criticism on Reddit: “The issue here is Saily doesn’t tell you the network.” Its Europe regional plan is also the most expensive on this page at $35.99 for 10GB, which is 2.25 times its own Spain price.

Worth it if you are island hopping, you want a number, or you want the most generous unlimited threshold.

ESIMDUDE takes 10% off Saily. AFFMAVEN5 gives 5%. Take the 10%. Saily coupon code page.

4. Nomad: fine at the price, quiet about everything else

Germany travel

Nomad

Nomad was tested in Cologne, the Rhine valley and the Black Forest, and it earns a strong 4.5 rating. It works with iPhones from the XR onwards and Android devices from the Pixel 3 and Galaxy S20, though mainland China handsets and some carrier-locked US phones are not supported.

4G/5G
4G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
15% OFF with code ESIMDUDE15

Pros

  • Works with iPhone XR and later
  • Android support from Pixel 3 and Galaxy S20
  • Good 4.5 rating

Cons

  • Mainland China handsets not supported
  • Some carrier-locked US phones may refuse
★ Limited-time coupon code

Nomad

Coupon code
15% OFF

Solid 4G eSIM for Germany

Your code ESIMDUDE15
✓ Germany travel✓ New & existing users
Redeem Nomad code Verified 12 Aug 2026
  • $14.00 for 10GB/30d
  • $1.40 per GB
  • 5G yes
  • carrier undisclosed

Spain plans: 1GB/30d $3.00, 1GB/7d $4.00, 3GB/30d $6.00, 5GB/30d $9.00, 10GB/30d $14.00, 20GB/30d $21.00, 50GB/30d $35.00.

The 1GB for 30 days at $3.00 is a genuinely useful SKU that most providers do not offer, and the 50GB at $35.00 is competitive for a long stay.

The catch, and there are three. Nomad’s “unlimited” is 2GB per day before throttling to 1000 kbps, which is one of the lowest thresholds here. It does not name its Spanish carrier.

And one digital nomad’s report on Reddit is worth quoting in full: “I have bought 5 esims from them and had problems with 2 (bad ratio).” A 40% failure rate in a sample of five is not statistically meaningful, but it is not nothing either. Others report Android installation friction.

Worth it if you want a low-commitment small plan, or a 50GB long-stay plan.

ESIMDUDE15 takes 15% off Nomad, bringing 10GB to $11.90. Nomad promo code page.

5. Airalo: names its network, but Leaves Island coverage unclear

Flexible budget travellers · 185 countries

AIRALO

Airalo offers flexible data-only eSIMs across 185 countries, with plans starting at $4 and per-GB costs as low as $0.50. Its seamless plan ladder, from 1GB to 50GB, suits travellers who aren’t yet sure how much data they’ll need. Promo codes can bring the price down further, especially for new customers.

4G/5G
4G/5G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Prices from
$4.00
Discount
15% OFF with code ESIMADVICE15

Pros

  • Flexible plan ladder from 1GB to 50GB
  • Excellent per-GB pricing on larger data packs
  • Regional Oceanlink plan covers eight countries
  • Promo codes cut costs further

Cons

  • Optus-only network in Australia
  • Data-only, with no calls or SMS
  • Unlimited plans throttle hard after 3GB daily
★ Limited-time coupon code

AIRALO

Coupon code
15% OFF
$12.00 $10.20 on a 10 GB Spain plan

Wide data ladder, deep discounts

Your code ESIMADVICE15
✓ Flexible budget travellers✓ New & existing users
Redeem AIRALO code Verified 6 Aug 2026
  • $14.00 for 10GB/30d
  • $1.40 per GB
  • 5G yes
  • hotspot yes
  • top-up yes
  • Orange

Airalo’s Spain product is branded Guay Mobile. Fixed data: 1GB/3d $4.00, 3GB/7d $6.00, 5GB/30d $9.00, 10GB/30d $14.00, 20GB/30d $20.00, 50GB/30d $39.00. Unlimited on Orange runs 3 days $11.00 up to 30 days $63.00, with fair use at 3GB per day before dropping to 1 Mbps.

Airalo names Orange as the primary network on its own Spain page, which almost nobody else does, and Orange is genuinely the second-fastest network in Spain at 66.8 Mbps. That is worth something.

Note the restructure: every guay-mobile product URL now renders the Orange unlimited lineup. The fixed tiers still exist and are still on sale, they are just not what the page shows you first.

The catch is the Canaries. Covered above, and it is the reason Airalo sits fifth rather than second. Its Europe regional Eurolink plan does include the Canaries, but at $31.00 for 10GB it is 2.21 times its own Spain price.

Worth it if you are staying on the mainland or the Balearics, you want the carrier named, and you want the polished app.

New to Airalo? ESIMADVICE15 takes 15% off, bringing 10GB to $11.90. Already a customer? ESIMADVICE10 gives 10% off any order. Both verified. Airalo promo code page.

6. Sim Local: the most honest carrier disclosure, and a Trustpilot problem

Budget-conscious travellers

Sim Local

Sim Local offers a 20GB, 30-day plan for $22.05, making it a solid value option for travellers. With 4G coverage and a 10% discount code, it’s a practical choice for general travel use.

4G/5G
4G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
10% OFF with code ESIMDUDE10

Pros

  • Competitive price for 20GB
  • 30-day validity
  • 10% discount available
  • 4G network technology

Cons

  • No hotspot support
  • No voice calls
  • Limited network details
★ Limited-time coupon code

Sim Local

Coupon code
10% OFF

Reliable travel eSIM with discount

Your code ESIMDUDE10
✓ Budget-conscious travellers✓ New & existing users
Redeem Sim Local code From our verified registry
  • $15.50 for 10GB/30d
  • $1.55 per GB
  • 5G yes
  • hotspot yes
  • top-up yes

Spain plans under its Smartroam brand: 1GB/3d $4.00, 3GB/7d $6.75, 5GB/30d $9.75, 10GB/30d $15.50, 20GB/30d $22.50. Unlimited 7 days at $27.50 with 5GB per day, or Unlimited Pro at $34.25 with 10GB per day.

That 10GB per day Pro threshold is the highest in this article by a factor of two. If you are hotspotting a laptop from an apartment in Barcelona for a week, it is the only plan here that will not throttle you.

Sim Local also does something nobody else does: it names the actual Spanish operators on the product listing, citing Telefónica Móviles España, Vodafone España, Xfera Móviles and France Telecom España. That is Movistar, Vodafone, Yoigo and Orange. Multi-network, named, in writing. It also states Canaries coverage explicitly.

The catch, and it is serious. Sim Local’s Trustpilot profile currently reads “This company’s rating is unavailable due to a breach of our guidelines” and “We’ve removed a number of fake reviews for this company.”

Category listings still show 4.5 across roughly 3,029 reviews, but the profile itself is flagged. Separately, both Spain product pages I opened showed “Out of stock”, so availability is unstable.

I am not saying the product is bad. Its Google Play rating is 4.7 across 864 reviews and its carrier disclosure is the best here. I am saying you should know about the Trustpilot flag before you decide, because nobody else will tell you.

Worth it if you need the 10GB per day unlimited threshold, or you specifically want a multi-network Spanish product with the operators named.

ESIMDUDE10, ESIMADVICE or ESIMNINJA10 each take 10% off Sim Local. On the Unlimited Pro that is about $3.43 back.

7. Amigo eSIM: one price for Spain or all of Europe

Sterling-billed travellers

Amigo eSIM

Amigo eSIM confirms support for Optus and Telstra MobileNet, securing a strong network experience. Plans are priced in pounds, and applying our 12% discount lowers the cost. This 4G travel eSIM does not include hotspot or calling features.

4G/5G
4G
Hotspot
No
Calls
No
Discount
12% OFF with ESIMDUDE with code ESIMDUDE

Pros

  • Confirmed Optus and Telstra support
  • 12% discount available
  • 4G network technology
  • Strong 4.6 user rating

Cons

  • No hotspot tethering
  • No calling features
  • Pricing only in pounds
★ Limited-time coupon code

Amigo eSIM

Coupon code
12% OFF

Reliable 4G with 12% discount

Your code ESIMDUDE
✓ Sterling-billed travellers✓ New & existing users
Redeem Amigo eSIM code From our verified registry
  • $20.00 for 12GB/30d
  • $1.67 per GB
  • Orange and Vodafone
  • hotspot unlimited

Spain plans: 1GB/7d $6, 6GB/30d $13, 12GB/30d $20, 18GB/30d $26, 30GB/30d $44. The 6GB tier and above include minutes and texts, which is unusual.

Here is the genuinely interesting thing about Amigo, and it is the reason it is on this list rather than off it: its Europe regional plans are priced identically to its Spain plans. 1GB $6, 6GB $13, 12GB $20, 18GB $26, 30GB $44. Every other provider here charges 1.6 to 2.4 times more for Europe than for Spain alone. Amigo charges the same.

So if your trip is Barcelona then Lisbon then Marseille, Amigo’s 12GB at $20 beats Airalo’s Eurolink 10GB at $31 and Saily’s 10GB at $35.99 outright. On a Spain-only trip it is mid-table. On a multi-country trip it is one of the best deals here.

It names Orange and Vodafone as its Spanish networks. Hotspot is stated as unlimited.

The catch: there is no 5GB tier and no 10GB tier, so you cannot compare it like for like. It publishes nothing about 5G support, top-ups or island coverage. And its Trustpilot base is 76 reviews, which is not a sample, it is a focus group. There is effectively no Reddit or YouTube footprint for it at all.

Worth it if you are crossing borders and want one price, or you want minutes and texts bundled.

ESIMDUDE takes 12% off Amigo eSIM, bringing 12GB to $17.60 for Spain or the whole of Europe.

Unlimited in Spain, and What It Actually Means

Every “unlimited” plan here has a daily cap. The number that matters is not the word on the box, it is the gigabytes per day and what speed you drop to afterwards.

ProviderSpain unlimited priceFull speed per dayThrottled to
Sim Local Pro$34.25 / 7 days10GB per dayNot stated
Saily$43.99 / 30 days5GB per day1 Mbps or less
Sim Local standard$27.50 / 7 days5GB per dayNot stated
GigSky$65.49 / 30 days3.5GB per daySlowed, never capped
Airalo$63.00 / 30 days3GB per day1 Mbps
Nomad$33.00 / 10 days2GB per day1000 kbps
AmigoNone offeredn/an/a

Two readings.

Sim Local Pro at 10GB per day is the only threshold you will not hit. Spain’s own domestic average is 14.6GB per month, so 10GB in a single day is more than two thirds of what a Spanish resident uses in four weeks.

Airalo’s 30-day unlimited at $63.00 is worse value than its own 50GB fixed plan at $39.00. Fifty gigabytes over thirty days is 1.67GB per day, which is above the honest tourist average. You would be paying $24 extra for the word “unlimited” and getting throttled at 3GB per day anyway.

Coverage Reality: Where Spain Actually Breaks

3G is gone from two of the three networks. Vodafone Spain finished its shutdown in 2024, Movistar in 2025. MasOrange, which is Orange and Yoigo, keeps 3G until 31 December 2027. That makes an Orange-hosted eSIM the safer choice for an older handset through 2027, and it is a legitimate reason to consider Airalo if your phone is more than five or six years old.

VoLTE is mandatory on Movistar and Vodafone. A handset without it has no voice service on those networks at all, not degraded, none. Data-only travel eSIMs are unaffected by the voice half, but a genuinely 3G-only device will fail entirely.

AVE high-speed rail has a real coverage problem, and Renfe has admitted it. In 2026 Renfe awarded an €85.4 million contract to upgrade connectivity on 183 AVE and long-distance trains, combining 4G, 5G, LTE-M and Starlink satellite with automatic network selection.

The satellite element is explicitly justified by terrestrial gaps on rural routes. Rollout is phased over five years. Until then, expect dropouts crossing Castile and Extremadura, and in tunnels. Download offline maps before you board.

The Camino de Santiago is better than you would expect. Pilgrims report full 4G on remote hilltops, and one long-time forum contributor said of the Camino del Norte, “I cannot recall losing coverage anywhere.” Orange is the most consistently recommended operator on Camino forums.

The Pyrenees are the worst coverage in Spain, with unreliable 4G on the passes. I have not found measured data or first-hand traveller reports for this, only vendor coverage guides, so treat it as directional rather than confirmed.

Inland areas of the islands can lose signal. Teide on Tenerife and the Serra de Tramuntana on Mallorca are both cited as weak spots. Again, vendor sources only.

Free wifi is fine but not a plan. Spain has broad public wifi through the EU’s WiFi4EU programme, with 510 Spanish municipalities in one funding call and 224 in another. The hotspots use the SSID “WiFi4EU”, need no password and no registration. Good enough for messaging and maps. Not good enough for video, and not continuous.

How Much Data You Actually Need in Spain?

Spain’s own regulator publishes the number nobody in this industry quotes: the average Spanish mobile line uses 14.6GB per month, per CNMC’s 2025 annual report. That is 0.48GB per day, and that is for a resident who has wifi at home.

There is no credible study of tourist data consumption in Spain. None. Every “you need 20GB” claim you have read comes from a company selling you 20GB.

The only real datapoint I could find is a traveller on a Fodor’s forum reporting 2GB across 12 days using maps and browsing without video.

The average stay in Spain is 6.6 nights, which is the number to size against.

Trip stylePer day7 nights14 nights
Maps and messaging, hotel wifi at night0.2 to 0.4GB3GB5GB
Typical tourist: maps, socials, restaurant search, translation0.5 to 1GB5 to 10GB15GB
Heavy: video calls home, photo backup, streaming1.5 to 2GB15GB30GB or unlimited
Hotspotting a laptop, working from an apartment2 to 3GB+UnlimitedUnlimited

For most people on a week in Barcelona or Madrid, 10GB is plenty and 5GB is probably enough. Spain has excellent café and hotel wifi and you will be on it more than you think.

What the Providers Will Not Tell You?

Three of the seven will not name their Spanish carrier. GigSky, Nomad and Saily do not disclose it. Given the measured spread between Movistar at 96.7 Mbps and Vodafone at 37.7 Mbps, that is a 2.5 times difference in speed that you cannot see before you pay.

If they will not name the carrier, assume it is the cheapest one available.

Orange and Yoigo stopped being separate networks in June 2026. Orange bought out its partner for €4.25 billion and now owns 100% of MasOrange, which also owns Jazztel, Simyo, Pepephone, Lebara and Llamaya. There are now three real networks in Spain plus Digi. Any redundancy claim involving Orange and Yoigo together is meaningless.

Vodafone Spain is not Vodafone. Zegona bought it in May 2024. It is now the slowest major network in the country on measured download speed.

Nobody has measured the islands. Opensignal covers six mainland cities. Every island coverage claim in every guide, including the vendor coverage pages I cited above, is unmeasured.

Barcelona’s tourist tax went up on 1 April 2026. The Catalan levy plus the city surcharge now reaches around €12.00 per night for luxury hotels and roughly €9.50 to €12.50 for apartments. The Balearic ecotax also rose, with the high band moving from €4 to €6 and cruise passengers from €2 to €6. None of this affects your eSIM. It affects your budget, and no eSIM guide mentions it.

The border is slower now. The EU Entry/Exit System became fully operational on 10 April 2026, which means biometric registration for every non-EU visitor at El Prat, Barajas and Palma. ETIAS is expected late 2026. The pre-registration app itself needs data, which is one more argument for having a working eSIM before you land rather than after.

Local SIM registration requires a passport in person, which is why most visitors do not bother. Vodafone’s remote passport-scan eSIM flow is the exception and it is not advertised.

Setting Up a Spain eSIM

Spain eSIM Setup Guide

Check your phone is unlocked.

iPhone: Settings, General, About, Carrier Lock. It should read “No SIM restrictions.” An eSIM for Spain on iPhone needs an XR or newer; on Android, most flagships from 2019 onward.

Buy and install before you fly.

QR code activation needs wifi, and with EES queues you do not want to be scanning anything at passport control. Install at home, activate on landing.

Check when the clock starts.

Most Spain plans activate on first connection to a Spanish network, not at install. Some do not. Read yours.

Turn data roaming ON for the travel line only.

This is the most common reason a Spain eSIM appears broken. Your eSIM attaches to a Spanish partner network, your phone classes that as roaming, and it blocks data until you allow it. Settings, Cellular, tap the travel line, Cellular Data Options, Data Roaming on. Leave it off on your home line.

Set the eSIM as your data line and turn off Allow Cellular Data Switching,

Which is the setting that quietly moves your data back to your home carrier at their prices.

If nothing attaches after five minutes,

Go to Network Selection, turn off Automatic, and pick a network by hand. Movistar first, then Orange.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best eSIM for Spain in 2026?

GigSky at $9.79 for 10GB over 30 days is the cheapest exact tier, and MobiMatter’s Sparks plan at $13.49 for 15GB is the lowest cost per gigabyte at $0.90. Saily is the best pick if you are visiting the Canary Islands or want a phone number, because it covers the islands on the same plan and sells a call and SMS add-on.

Does a Spain eSIM work in the Canary Islands?

It depends on the provider, which is not the answer it should be. Saily, Sim Local and MobiMatter all confirm the Canaries are covered by their Spain plans. Airalo’s Spain plan names only mainland Spain and the Balearics, and Airalo sells a separate Canary Islands eSIM. GigSky, Nomad and Amigo publish no island statement at all. Get it in writing before you pay.

Do I need an eSIM for Spain if I live in the EU?

No. Roam Like At Home means your existing SIM works in Spain, the Balearics and the Canaries at your domestic rates, subject to a fair use data cap. Buying a travel eSIM is usually a waste of money for EU residents.

Do UK visitors need a Spain eSIM after Brexit?

It depends on your carrier. Roam Like At Home is no longer automatic for UK SIMs, so EU roaming is at your operator’s discretion. O2 customers are consistently advised on Spanish travel forums to just use their existing SIM. If your carrier charges a daily roaming fee, a Spain eSIM is cheaper on any trip longer than about three days.

Which network is best in Spain?

Movistar, on the measured data. It recorded 96.7 Mbps against Orange’s 66.8, Yoigo’s 45.1, DIGI’s 39.8 and Vodafone’s 37.7 in Opensignal’s January to March 2026 testing, and it wins on consistent quality and reliability too. It also wins in both Barcelona and Madrid specifically.

Is Spain eSIM unlimited data really unlimited?

No. Every unlimited plan here carries a daily full-speed allowance and then throttles. Sim Local Pro is the most generous at 10GB per day, followed by Saily at 5GB, Airalo at 3GB and Nomad at 2GB per day.

Is a Spain eSIM better than a local Spanish SIM?

On convenience, yes. On value, no, and it is not close. Vodafone Spain prepaid runs around €10 to €15 a month for 50GB to 240GB, which is ten to twenty times better on cost per gigabyte than any travel eSIM. The trade is that Spanish law requires passport registration, normally in person. If you are staying more than two weeks, the local SIM wins.

How much data do I need for a week in Spain?

Five to ten gigabytes for a typical tourist using maps, messaging, socials and restaurant search. Spain’s average stay is 6.6 nights and its own domestic average is 14.6GB per month, so a week of tourist use rarely passes 10GB. Ignore anyone telling you that you need 20GB.

What is the cheapest eSIM Spain option in 2026?

On an exact 10GB tier, GigSky at $9.79. On pure cost per gigabyte, MobiMatter’s Sparks plan at $13.49 for 15GB, which works out at $0.90. Both beat every headline brand. If you only need a few days, Airalo’s 3GB for 7 days at $6.00 and Nomad’s 1GB for 30 days at $3.00 are the cheapest small plans here.

Does Spain 5G coverage reach the islands and the countryside?

Spain’s national 5G population coverage is 96%, and rural coverage reached 80% in the most recent government figures, up from 26% in 2021. Movistar publishes the widest footprint at 95% with 5G standalone in more than 5,700 municipalities. No independent measurement exists for the Balearics or the Canaries specifically.

Does 5G work on a Spain eSIM?

On most of them, yes. Spain’s 5G population coverage is 96% nationally and 80% in rural areas. GigSky, Airalo, Saily, Nomad and Sim Local all support 5G in Spain.

Which Spanish carrier will my eSIM use?

Airalo says Orange. Sim Local names Movistar, Vodafone, Yoigo and Orange. Amigo says Orange and Vodafone. MobiMatter says Movistar, Orange or Vodafone depending on the vendor. GigSky, Nomad and Saily do not say.

The Verdict

The best eSIM for Spain is the one that covers where you are actually going, at a price that reflects what the data costs.

GigSky wins on price. $9.79 for a 10GB Spain eSIM over 30 days is 30% below Airalo and Nomad and 39% below Saily, with 5G, unlimited hotspot and a free 500MB trial so you can test it before you commit. ESIMADVICE15 takes it to $8.32. The trade is that it will not name its Spanish network.

MobiMatter wins on cost per gigabyte. The Sparks Spain and Portugal plan gives you 15GB for $13.49, which is $0.90 per gigabyte and the lowest in the country, and its NextLink Europe plan at $10.99 for 12GB is the cheapest multi-country option here by a mile. ESIMDUDE adds 50% cashback capped at $5. Support is slow, and that is the catch.

Saily is the pick for the islands and for anyone who wants a number. It covers the Canaries on the same Spain plan in writing, its 5GB per day unlimited threshold is the most generous of the mainstream options, and its 4.7 Trustpilot across 28,763 reviews is the strongest here. ESIMDUDE takes 10% off.

Nomad and Airalo both land at $14 for 10GB. Airalo names Orange and has the better app; Nomad has a genuinely useful $3 one-gigabyte plan. ESIMDUDE15 and ESIMADVICE15 each bring their 10GB plans to $11.90. Airalo ranks lower mainly because of the uncertainty around Canary Islands coverage and the separate Canary Islands eSIM it continues to sell.

Sim Local is worth it for one specific thing, the Unlimited Pro at 10GB per day, which is double anyone else’s threshold, plus the only full carrier disclosure on this page. Weigh that against a Trustpilot profile currently flagged for fake reviews. ESIMDUDE10 takes 10% off.

Amigo eSIM is the multi-country answer because it charges the same for all of Europe as it does for Spain alone, which nobody else here does. ESIMDUDE takes 12% off.

And the answer nobody selling an eSIM Spain tourist package wants to give: if you live in the EU, use your own SIM. If you are staying more than a fortnight, get a Spanish prepaid SIM and pay a tenth as much per gigabyte. If you are visiting from outside Europe for a week or two, buy from the table above, install it before you fly, and turn data roaming on for that line only.

That is the whole thing. The rest is marketing.

Why trust eSIMTweaks.

59 providers tested.

388 speed tests run.

20 countries covered.

  • We buy every eSIM ourselves. No free units, no sponsorships.
  • Ratings are not for sale. No provider pays for placement or a better score.
  • Every claim is backed by data: speed tests, screenshots, raw numbers, not adjectives.
  • Reviews are re-tested on a schedule. Stale data gets replaced, not left up.
  • We live in and travel across the countries we cover, using these eSIMs for our own connectivity, not a one-time test.
  • 15+ years combined experience in content, editing, and strategy across the UK, France, US, and South America.
  • More on why you can trust us

More like this

About the author

Dean Alvarez
Dean Alvarez

Editor-in-Chief

As Editor-in-Chief, I am responsible for our editorial standards, review methodology and the final approval of every provider ranking published on eSIMTweaks. I have spent fifteen years in travel and consumer technology publishing. Our team purchases the plans it evaluates, and commercial partnerships have no influence on placement.